"I can’t see you as a Realtor"…

recently had a conversation with a lady-friend.  She is looking into buying property. It went something like this:

Me:  You know, I’m a licensed Realtor, right?  Let me know if I can help or answer any questions!
Lady:  (laughing) You’re a Realtor?!  Wow, I can’t see you as a Realtor at all.  Seriously.
Me:  Do you mind if I ask what you mean by that?
Lady:  You just don’t strike me as the Realtor type.
Me:  I take that as a complement.
Lady:  Really?  Why?
Me:  Based on what I know you’re implying, I’m glad you don’t see me that way.

This guys?  A Realtor?  Really?!?!?
A few things struck me after this exchange.
  1. Honestly, at first, I was pridefully flattered that she didn’t see me as a sleazy salesman; a cut-throat creep looking out for number one and that’s it.  After all, we want others to see us as kind, courteous, and trustworthy, right?    
  2. After I snapped out of my momentary episode of self-worship, I was struck with pity for my friend.  Let me explain.  My friend was getting ready to enter an incredibly tight real estate market as a buyer.  That’s already hard enough.  Then, she seemed to be expecting (even anticipating) that the agent she would hire to negotiate on her behalf and shepherd her through the transaction would have the business sense of a shark and the personality to match.  Is there no other option?!
  3. There are some really great people out there in real estate who inspired me to enter this industry.  People like RigelThurstonMichelle Reed, and Don Powers are amazing at what they do and remind me why I am doing this:  I want to do an excellent job for people because I care about them.
Michelle (Keller Williams)

Rigel (Austin Common Place)

Don (Dwell Realty)















So, do I want to be seen as a Realtor?  Heck yes!  I want to have the reputation as a Realtor who cares for, shelters, educates, and guides his clients well…just like so many others are doing out there!  









Barrett Raven
C:  512-970-2648
O:  512-910-7403
2 thoughts on “"I can’t see you as a Realtor"…

Leave a Reply

