My Adventures Through Real Estate Mordor…

Disclaimer:  I am not a Lord of the Rings (LOTR) expert.  I read the books and saw the movies in high school and they were great.  In the following post, you are sure to read lots of misused terms and such.  I am not a Middle Earth expert- so there.

Photo courtesy of http://www.thelandofshadow.com

The Black Gate of Mordor:
So, as I take stock of my personal experience in this industry we call “Real Estate Sales,” I can draw a lot of similarities between it and the huge Black Gate of Mordor in The Lord of the Rings.  Of course, this is not a perfect analogy.  For example, I am not attempting to open a massive gate and enter a land of evil and save the human race from a dark force.  At any rate, let me explain my analogy is the simplest way possible.  
  • The Gate Itself
    • For me, the huge gate represents success in real estate.  If Frodo were to approach the gargantuan gate himself and attempt to move it, he would surely fail….for a time.  To an outsider, it would be an entirely futile effort.  How could one person (much less a Hobbit!) move such a beastly object?!  After a while, though, I’m sure Frodo could move the gate fractions of centimeters.  In the same way, the Austin real estate market is beastly right now.  Listings are incredibly hard to come by and the environment hasn’t been this competitive in decades.  However, I am learning to see my small achievements and successes for what they are:  accomplishments!
  • Expectations
    • In fact, if Frodo thought he would just walk up to the gate, kick it open, and start his mission in earnest, he would have been devastated after realizing the weight (literally) of his task.  Frodo needed a realistic plan that assumed success.  In the same way, I know that I probably won’t make millions this year (or ever!) in real estate.  But that’s OK!  I expect to try my best and move that freakin’ gate!  
Photo courtesy of mechtild.livejournal.com
  • Persistence
    • The members of the Fellowship knew that they couldn’t give up.  The only failure is quitting.  With that being said, I have heard a lot of “No”s since I started in real estate.  As my wonderful mom says, “‘No‘ means ‘next.'”  
  • Support
    • Luckily, in my current situation, I have a lot of support to help me move my “Black Gate”.  That support manifests itself in two areas:  my brokerage and you guys!  I have access to some truly amazing people here at GoodLife Realty.  Without the support of my mentor Terronald, our President Jason, our Contract-to-Close Coordinator Abby, and so many others, I can’t imagine what it would be like trying to navigate and conquer this industry.  In addition, you all have been so incredibly supportive of my endeavors and goals.  Your encouragement and referrals have left me flabbergasted (in a good way)!  

Some of my fantastic team:  Top row: Garry, Jason, Eli, and Terronald.
Botton row: Abby, Brenda, and me!

  • Momentum
    • Once Frodo and Sam have enough help, they could really get that gate swinging.  As a parallel, this season has been all about building momentum with my business.  I have pulled lots of early mornings, hard days, and long nights.  To be honest, it’s been a little bit of an emotional roller coaster.  At times, it feels like I’m pushing at the gate with all of my might and it is only becoming more shut!  That’s OK because I am still pushing.  I know that, after enough time and effort, I will eventually build enough momentum that I will need some help keeping up with it all!  

So, there ya have it.  I could go on and on.  Throughout the process of writing this, I thought of about 27 more parallels to draw with the Black Gate.  Can you think of more?








Barrett Raven
C:  512-970-2648
O:  512-910-7403

Leave a Reply

