Alphabet Soup!

I love learning.  I kind of have an obsession with learning new stuff.  My wife, Kristen, has actually identified a quirk (one of many) in my personality where I experience borderline obsessions with certain topics, bands, public figures, etc.  For example, in the past few years, I have immersed myself in topics like:
  • World War I
  • The gold standard (and the fiat money system)
  • Ryan Adams
  • Snapchat (my username is barrettraven.  Follow me!)
  • The mafia
  • Professional cycling
  • ISIS (most recent)
You should read this book.
 I tend to consume all resources and information pertaining to these topics, let it sit for a while, and then move on to the next one.  It’s a beautiful thing.  A few years ago, I experienced the same thing with real estate.  The only difference is- that season of learning and (almost) addiction to the topic hasn’t faded at all.  If anything, it’s intensified!  I absolutely LOVE getting the opportunity to learn new things about this business that directly contributes to improving my ability to help my clients. 

So, I had the amazing opportunity recently to have a knowledge-feast with some of the best agent in our city.  I took a series of three class that allowed me to earn a designation for real estate professionals called the “GRI”.  It’s similar to various industry designations such as:
  • CPA – Certified Public Accountant, an accounting industry designation
  • CSEO – Certified Senior Escrow Officer, an escrow industry designation
  • CFP – Certified Financial Planner, a financial industry designation

Throughout the classes, which spanned six weeks, we received awesome in-depth training on topics like fair housing, legal updates, lending guidelines, ethical pitfalls, title issues, green building, environmental hazards, and (most importantly) contracts and addenda used in a real estate transaction (among many others).  Everyday, I left our classroom saying, “I can’t believe we get to learn about this stuff!”  Some of my fellow classmates thought I was crazy.
 
The next time you get an email from me and you see a bunch of letters after my name, remember- that’s not just alphabet soup!  That’s a sign of my commitment to provide the best possible service to you and those you care about who you may introduce to me.  That should make you feel better than ISIS.  It does for me.

I even tried racing bikes myself for a season.  That ended in pain.  Lots of pain.

Below is a short press release from the Texas Association of Realtors (TAR) about the GRI program.



AUSTIN – Barrett Raven of GoodLife Realty recently received the nationally recognized Graduate REALTOR® Institute (GRI) designation.

    The GRI program is offered through the National Association of REALTORS® and administered by the Texas Association of REALTORS®. Graduates complete three 30-hour courses in specialized subjects such as contracts, finance, professional standards, agency, marketing, and implementing technology to improve their business. Roughly ten percent of TAR’s 80,000 members have earned their GRI designation. 

    The GRI designation signifies the graduate’s commitment to increasing their knowledge and enhancing their professionalism to perform successfully in today’s complex real estate field.









Barrett Raven
C:  512-970-2648
O:  512-910-7403
Leave a Reply

